Adult Learners

Overview

Adult Learners

Adult Learners, also known as an Indirect Matriculant, are first time college students who do not enroll in college immediately after graduating high school.  

Long Beach City College is committed to helping Adult Learners/Indirect Matriculant students successfully navigate the college system and achieve their educational and career goals. The Postsecondary Achievement and Success Opportunity (PASO) and Success & Completion Achievement Network (SCAN) programs offer students additional support and promote academic success.

The two programs offered at LBCC are the Postsecondary Achievement and Success Opportunity (PASO) and Success and Completion Achievement Network (SCAN). 

For Further Assistance, contact PASO or SCAN  
PASO: (562) 938- 4401 | paso@lbcc.edu 
SCAN: (562) 938- 5181 | scan@lbcc.edu 

Peer Navigators are available in person or virtually during regular business office hours. Evening hours may vary. To view our schedule, please refer to the hours of operation. 


Program Information

  • The PASO program prioritizes Hispanic and low-income students who identify as first-time Adult Learners/Indirect Matriculants.   
  • The SCAN program prioritizes students of color who identify as first-time Adult Learners/Indirect Matriculants enrolling in college at 25 years or older.

Join our PASO/SCAN Programs Today 
Students interested in joining our programs, please complete the following interest form below. 

NEW 2024 Summer Bridge Program  
Sign up to attend one of our Summer Bridge Program Sessions being held this August 2024. Click here to learn more about the Summer Bridge program. 

Program Benefits 

  • Peer Mentoring; assigned to a designated Peer Navigator   
  • 1 on 1 specialized academic counseling   
  • Summer Bridge Program  
  • Monthly in-person and virtual student workshops 
  • Access to exclusive PASO & SCAN Math and English courses 
  • Access to Financial Aid and Enrollment Specialist liaisons  

PASO Peer Navigators

Your Peer Navigators are available to assist you with scheduling a counseling appointment, enrolling in courses, connecting with resources, and answering general questions.

Alej de la Torre  (562) 938- 4067  adelatorre83@lbcc.edu
Dammulla Premaratne  (562) 938- 4079 dpremaratne37@lbcc.edu

Joey Smith

(562) 938- 4098  jsmith147@lbcc.edu 

Laura Castaneda 

(562) 938- 4138 

lcastaneda127@lbcc.edu 

Luis Lombera 

(562) 938- 4154  llombera80@lbcc.edu 

Tanya Ruiz

(562) 938- 4163  truiz118@lbcc.edu 

Miguel Zavala

(562) 938- 4174  mzavala74@lbcc.edu

Keren Okbalidet

(562) 938- 4421 kokbalidet77@lbcc.edu

Oscar Diaz

(562) 938- 4333  odiazorozco95@lbcc.edu
Faith Okwuoha  (562) 938- 4787

fokwuoha30@lbcc.edu 

Haydee Arvizu  (562) 938- 4786 harvizu-aguilar51@lbcc.edu

SCAN Peer Navigators

Your Peer Navigators are available to assist you with scheduling a counseling appointment, enrolling in courses, connecting with resources, and answering general questions.

Adrianna Ortiz 

(562) 938- 4042 

aortiz40@lbcc.edu 

Aqila Mei

(562) 938- 5071  amei74@lbcc.edu

Christian Barnes

(562) 938- 4072 cbarnes41@lbcc.edu

Courtney Williams 

(562) 938- 4077 cwilliams90@lbcc.edu

Forrest Wilson

(562) 938- 5182  fwilson68@lbcc.edu 

Gilm Stephane Foucault 

(562) 938- 5177 gfoucault50@lbcc.edu

Isis Acuna

(562) 938- 4080  iacunaespinoza65@lbcc.edu

Marty Triplett 

(562) 938- 4160 mtriplett81@lbcc.edu

Arden Angeles 

(562) 938- 4251 aangeles36@lbcc.edu

Dhia Xiong

(562) 938- 4289  dxiong55@lbcc.edu

Christopher Bryant 

(562) 938- 4321  cbryant76@lbcc.edu

Adrian Burt

(562) 938- 4472  aburt94@lbcc.edu
Mayro Vazquez 

(562) 938- 4419 

mvazquez45@lbcc.edu 
Post

Adult Learners Summer Bridge Program

The Postsecondary Achievement and Success Opportunity (PASO) and Success and Completion Achievement Network (SCAN) programs are hosting three Summer Bridge sessions this August 2024. The 2-day Summer Bridge program is designed to help first-time college students, particularly Adult Learners like yourself, get a head start in acclimating to college life and becoming familiar with Long Beach City College resources. 

Session 1: Friday, Aug. 2 from 5pm-7pm & Saturday, Aug. 3 from 8am- 4:30pm (LAC, T1200)